The importance of planning

I’ve had about three good weeks in a row right now. I haven’t felt overwhelmed by graduate classes or teaching – and I’ve actually been able to make it to the gym 4-5 times a week. It’s a great feeling. Maybe it’s because I’m managing my time better. Maybe it’s because I’m getting more comfortable at my placement. Or maybe it’s just a mix between those two in combination with another aspect: planning.

This might be the biggest change I’ve noticed over the last couple months. It’s not that I wasn’t planning before – and it definitely wasn’t that I felt it was unnecessary – but it seemed like I was just stuck in a rut. My mentor would plan the lessons and I’d follow in the footsteps of those lessons. In a sense, I felt like robot that copied exactly what it saw.

But in the last few months, especially since the start of the new year, I’ve made it a goal to get more involved in the planning. Even if it’s just looking a week at a time, I’m staying focused on what I want to teach and how I want to go about doing it. I’m getting the readings done well in advance of these lessons on the weekends. And because of that, I’m able to get multiple readings in before the actual lesson. I’m more prepared and comfortable when I teach, now. So, while planning has greatly impacted how I approach my teaching, I’ve also noticed that it’s having a huge influence on my students. It’s a win-win all-around and it’s all because I took the initiative to get ahead on my planning to make a difference for me and for my students.

And because I like this feeling so much, I don’t expect to ever go back to how it was. Planning lessons is crucial to keeping my good mood and rest of my life less stressful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, English, Lesson, Lesson planning, Personal, Student Teaching, Students, Teaching

Leave a Reply

